First inspection as chief tech. Am I going to be nervous for the next 3 months?

Kathy

I have been the chief tech at my current employer for 1 1/2 years. Prior to that I was a blood bank tech for 20 years. I know blood banking, but having only been a chief tech for a short time, I know that there is a lot that I don't know as far as regulations and performance improvement. As such, I fully expect that the inspectors (AABB/CAP) are going to find something that I have missed. I did do my self-inspection and I know we are strong in some areas and need clarification in others. It is impossible for me to fully address everything in the short time I have been there and with so many other things going on (new hospital computer system with CPOE, four new pieces of equipment, laboratory move within the inspection window period...).

The window period starts Monday and I have been nervous for the past week. I know who my inspectors are, and due to their education level (SBB and master's degree), I am already intimidated. I am very hard on myself when I am criticized, so the virtual certainty that they will find something (no matter how minor), is going to be difficult for me emotionally. I do know that this is a great learning opportunity, so I look forward to that aspect of the inspection.

Is there anything that will help make this time easier for me so that I can calm down and stay focused, rather than being on edge? I would much prefer to just get this thing over with, but I doubt they are going to come earlier in the inspection cycle.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Kathy,