Starting new job in Blood Bank!

_Nikki_

Hey everyone! My name is Nikki and I have recently been hired in the Blood Bank laboratory of a large city hospital. I will be starting in a few days.

Some background on myself: I graduated in 2005 with an AS in Clinical Laboratory Technology. After I graduated I took a job in Quality Assurance and for the past 6 years I have been working at that job for a non profit organization (not a lab environment). I decided I wanted to find a job in a lab, applied, and got the interview for Blood Bank Technician. I was honest and said I did not have any recent lab experience and I am not certified. They decided to hire me despite these things and I start next week!

My question: how difficult is it going to be for me to learn the blood bank functions since it has been so long since I learned Blood Bank in college?? I will not be doing patient testing but things like Irradiating blood, fulfilling orders for blood, delivering blood to the OR, etc. Any advice for me?? Any recommendations on websites I can go to to review the basics?

I am super excited about this opportunity but very nervous!

Thanks for listening and for any information you can provide me :)

Nikki

Congrats, Nikki, on your new job. You will find the Blood Bank to be an exciting place to work. Show up every day ready to learn, ask a lot of questions. There are some great resources on this website which would be a good review. Keep checking back here...I learn something new every time I show up here, and I've been in the Blood Bank for 24 or so years.

A tip from a trainer :)

It's better practice to refer to SOPs when you get stuck rather then your own notes. It's easy to get things 'back to front' when writing them down the first time you see it). If you follow the SOP you are doing it the way it is meant to be done. If you follow your own notes and you make a mistake you could be disciplined for not following the SOP.