Newly promoted, overwhelmed.

Kathy

I have recently been promoted to supervisor of the blood bank in a pediatric hospital. While I have tons of experience in pediatric blood banking as a technologist, I have very little experience in this particular hospital and no supervisory experience. I was promoted for my technical expertise, but I am very much concerned about the amount I have to learn as far as how this particular blood bank works, what the regulations are exactly, and how we follow them. I am fortunate that we just passed an AABB inspection, but we can expect a visit from the FDA at any time.

If any of you have any words of advise for me, I would appreciate it.

The biggest thing is to make certain everyone follows procedures as they are defined. That is what the Feds look for. I am going to assume you are in compliance with the regulations - if you had a successful AABB assessment you should be fine with the FDA. If you have continuous QA reports, the FDA will be really happy, as it means you are staying on top of your operation (and it is less work for them - they should not cite you for anything which you have discovered and have fixed or are in the process of fixing). Always be straight forward with any inspectors, but esp the feds. Use these forums as the amount of experience/knowledge/comraderie is unbelievable. DON'T LET YOUR PAPERWORK GET TOO FAR BEHIND! Have a great time and good luck.