Screening for c in D negative units

cbaldwin

I am posting this in the Education forum because I am a student. In the thread, "Topics for Education", numerous suggestions were offered, and I have a question about one of the suggestions. I am starting a new thread because it is a new subject.

plus understanding the risks of making anti-c and why you don't screen the O negs for c when you have gone through all the O pos units”

I would like to make sure I understand this one. Anti-c is clinically the most important Rh antibody after D.

First, I'm assuming this is an emergency and the O positive units were given without screening, so the patient has been exposed to c. Secondly, the incidence of the c antigen in Caucasians is 80%, in Blacks 96% and in Asians 47%, so there is a good chance that if the patient is Caucasian or Black they won't develop anti-c.

I hope someone will correct me or comment on my musings. I am adsorbing a lot of information (such as the difference between adsorbtion and absorbtion) but information is not knowledge and I need all the help I can get!

Thank you!

Hi Catherine. I'm not sure is you actually have a question, so my comments may be off-base.

There are some transfusion services that do screen Rh Positive donor red cells for the c antigen, but most facitilites do not screen for the c antigen. I think most facilities feel that it is not cost-effective to spend the time and reagent expense of doing the additional testing in order to prevent a patient from possibly producing Anti-c.

And since the vast majority of Rh Negative donor units are r/r (dce/dce, and therefore c Positive), it is definitely a waste of time & reagents to screen Rh Negative donor units for the c antigen.