anti-E?

WAAlover<3

We had a patient come in that had a history at our hospital of an anti-Bga. This was from AHG tube testing using LISS. We now use capture technology on an Echo and the patient came in again. Screening cell two on the Echo was positive. Our SOP is to then do a ReadyID panel and a DAT also on the Echo. The DAT was negative and all E+ cells showed reactivity on the panel. (Screening cell 2 was also E+.) We then did two AHG phase crossmatches on the Echo which were both compatible. The problem came when we phenotyped the patient. They typed as E+…as did both units that were crossmatched. Our manager ended up calling it an autoantibody with anti-E specificity. I am fairly new to blood banking but wondered why she called in an autoantibody if the patients DAT was negative. I believe I read something that a person can create a non-red cell stimulated anti-E but could cross react with red cell-bourne structures. I was just wondering what everyone out there thinks about this or if anyone could just shed some light on this for me. Thanks!

Your DAT may have been negative, but it depends upon several factors as to why this was so when the patient was E+ themselves, and why the two E+ units appeared compatible.

Firstly, it will depend upon what anti-immunoglobulins are in your AHG.

There is a very good chance that such an antibody will be (mostly) IgM, but an IgM that does not trip the complement cascade. If your AHG does not have a decent amount of anti-IgM in it, the DAT will be negative (as would the cross-match with the 2 E+ units).

Secondly, it will depend upon the "fit" of the antibody to the antigen.

Very often, such antibodies are "naturally occurring" (although, of course, there must have been some undefined stimulus). Such antibodies do not "fit" their corresponding antibodies as well as "genuine" immune specificities, and so the antibody-antigen complex can be quite fragile.