Looking for information on Historical Bloodbank data archive solutions

Hi, I want to start by saying, I am a software developer, with personal interest in bloodbank data archive systems, but unfortunately, I don't have access to many connections with BloodBankers. If my post is inappropriate, I apologize as I have no intent to offend...

I'm trying to identify ways in which you have solved the challenges of historical transfusion/unit data for systems that your organization may have migrated off of, or where the data was brought into your organization by acquisition (or some such method).

I have a client that needed to move away from an old custom written application. In the process of helping them convert to a new historical archive, I became interested in trying to identify how other organizations have solved these challenges.

Specifically, I'm interested in the following:

Do you use a shrink-wrapped application, a custom built-in-house application, a tool provided by your current vendor, or have no historical archive?

If you have a historical archive:

* Did you use screen-scraping, or discrete database accesses to pull the information out of the old system?

* How many different bloodbank systems do you have aggregated together?

* What type of lookup abilities do you need in a historical archive?

* What do you like about your current system?

* What would you like your current system to do, but it doesn't do it?

Don't really know what half of this means - but for our system, when we changed from Cerner Classic to Meditech we kept acces to Cerner data for Pathology and Blood Bank on the original alpha drive. It is completely separate and has to be accessed independently, there was no crossover to the new system. Any history from the old system to the new system has to be moved manually. Our archive has recently been moved to a more modern storage system but is still completely separate. We access it as needed.