SBB

rachelp

Hi, I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right spot so I'm sorry if it's wrong!! I am a med tech working in a large hospital, after graduation I worked for a year as a generalist and for the past 6 months I have been working in blood bank only. I have been thinking a lot about getting my SBB certification. I was just looking for how this has helped anyone advance in their careers/ what kind of jobs you all have! Or any information and inspiration y'all might have for a newbie like me! 

I certainly wouldn't be doing what I'm doing today if I hadn't gotten my SBB (and followed it with an MS in Transfusion Medicine). Although with almost 7 years doing QA support for blood collection/component production, maybe that's not a good thing!

My situation is probably unusual though, as I was never an MLS. After my BS in biology I was taught phlebotomy in a plasma center, after almost a year there I moved to a small blood collector where I got to do everything (donor screening, phlebotomy, component production, ABO and antibody screens, infectious disease testing and product distribution), which led to attending an SBB program, which eventually landed me in QA (now at my second employer in a QA role, nice thing about this one is I also have some software responsibility for user changes/testing which adds some variety to the job).

I have always heard/been told that getting an SBB helps get you into management roles or a positing in a reference lab.

6 hours ago, Eman said:

I certainly wouldn't be doing what I'm doing today if I hadn't gotten my SBB (and followed it with an MS in Transfusion Medicine). Although with almost 7 years doing QA support for blood collection/component production, maybe that's not a good thing! 

Hi Eman

Sounds like you took the career path that I eventually would like to take. 

I would like to get my SBB and then get a Masters in Transfusion Medicine. And also work QA!