Using only mixed field anti-D (ortho gel) as qualitative indicator for RhIg eligibility

JoyDenver

As a COLA Surveyor I inspect many small rural hospital Blood Banks and I have never run across a procedure like this: "If the post-partum Rh test on the mother is mixed fieldpositive, a sample of the  mother's blood is sent to the reference lab at the blood center for quantiation of the FMH by KB stain".  The Lab uses Ortho gel for their ABORh testing.  I have always thought routine Anti-D reagents are not manufactured for this purpose (detecting FMH) and a Fetal Screen must be performed because the Anti-D in the FS kit is modified and FDA approved to detect smaller quantities of fetal blood that may be in Mom's circulation.  What is the best explaination I can give this Lab to convince them their paractice may be unsafe.

I would tell them 1) to read the package insert, which, I bet, does NOT say it can be used for this purpose, and 2) tell them to contact Ortho about this practice, and I bet Ortho will also tell them that they are playing with fire.

I haven't heard anything quite so stupid for a very, very long time.

:angered::angered::angered::angered::angered:

I agree:  If the manufacturer must state that this is a valid Fetal Cell Screen OR there must be literature/studies out there validating that a FMH greater than 30mL will always be detected in gel (ABO and Rh Typing).  Has anyone out there seen such literature? :rolleyes:

Yes, annoying when facts are twisted and general statements are made that don't reflect the truth of the matter.  There are lots of them out there. 

Grrr, too.

I told the lab just that and they will immediately implement using a fetal screen for their ONeg moms with Rh Pos babies.  It's always a good feeling that I can come into a small rural hospital to educate them on their BB practices to better serve their community. I feel I've done my job as a COLA Accreditation Surveyor!