First AABB inspection

aj2018

I recently took over a small transfusion service.  The department hasnt had a supervisor in over 8 months so the paperwork is piled up, nothing is organized, and not sure if we have some things documented or even tracked. 

Its my first time taking over a transfusion service department so its hard to figure out where to start.  We are a small transfusion service, we keep one platelet on hand, we have only about 6 Onegs and the maximum of 20 OPOS units.  We use ProVue, manual gel, and tube and we do limited antibody identification.  As far as equipment we have one blood bank refridgerator for reagents and units, plasma thawer, platelet incubator and a small FFP freezer along with one cell washer and one centrifuge.

I need to get this department in shape...equipment, proficiency testing, testing, temperature documentation, all the reviews that need to be done and what paperwork i need to keep in case the inspectors ask for.

We have reports that print daily like patient testing reports that we review.  Do we need to keep those for inspections? 

I understand we have to have forms/tables that outline daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, annual maintenance on the equipment.  Also, forms that show CAP proficiencies are being done by all techs and are all satisfactory.  Procedures for all the testing need to be reviewed annually. 

Im a little bit confused about what I need to have as far as the LIS system as far as checks, documentation..etc.? 

Any help regarding AABB/ CAP inspections and regulations, any forms that you can pass on that might help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Wow, you have your work cut out for you. First of all, with a BB that small, why on earth do you have a ProVue, and manual gel and tubes??? Provues were designed for bigger labs not little ones. Seems like a huge waste of money when you already have manual gel and tubes as a fall-back. Just an opinion