"In-Service" on Transfusion Reactions

Bob M

Hello everyone. I have been lurking for some time in here, and have to say that the information from this community is extremely helpful.

We recently had a CAP inspection, and were cited for TRM.41650. It reads:

"Are criteria for the recognition of transfusion reactions documentented, and is there documentation of periodic in-service education on the recognition of such reactions? NOTE: These must be readily available to clinical personnel in areas where patients are transfused."

I am unsure how to proceed here. Is this in reference to in-service training and yearly competency checks of the transfusionists (who are nurses in our hospital)? The lab personnel would not be the front line individuals who would need to "recognize" a transfusion reaction, so it must be some type of competency assessment of the nursing staff. If so, how are you doing this in your institutions? I am a clinical lab scientist, and I am not certain my skill set would recognize a reaction event at the patient's bedside. As such, I do not feel qualified to deliver an in-service of this nature. Are there on-line materials that might be used in these instances?

Secondly, I am uncertain as to the definition of the word, "These", in the supplemental note. What materials are in reference here that "must be readily available where patients are transfused"? Again, this must be some type of information that the transfusionists/nurses would need access to. If so, do they need to be in the actual patient's room, or just available in the nursing stations. And what would it actually be?

Hope I do not sound too clueless here. It's just that, well, I am. But I do thank you for any advice and pathways to information that you can provide.

Bob